Boxing TV Schedule: Week of October 8-14

By Caryn A. Tate on October 9, 2017
Boxing TV Schedule: Week of October 8-14
Saturday night’s junior middleweight triple-header on Showtime is a phenomenal card.

First up will be IBF world champion Jarrett Hurd (20-0, 14 KOs) defending his belt against former world champion Austin Trout (30-3, 17 KOs)…

Friday, October 13
10:00pm ET/7:00pm PT - ESPN Deportes (Undercard streaming at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT on ESPN3/WatchESPN app)
Fidel Maldonado Jr. vs. Ismael Barroso; Pablo Cesar Cano vs. Marcelino Lopez

Maldonado Jr. (24-3, 19 KOs) is coming off of a decision win over the undercard’s Cano, while Barroso (19-1, 18 KOs) was last seen in the ring in May when he was stopped by Anthony Crolla. Cano (30-6, 21 KOs) is facing Argentinean Lopez (32-2-1, 17 KOs) on the undercard, and while Lopez isn’t well known in the United States, the fact that his two most recent bouts have taken place in America is a good sign that he may be prepared to give a good showing outside his home country. These fighters are all fun to watch and give their all.

Saturday, October 14
2:00pm ET/11:00am PT - WorldBoxingSuperSeries.com, Audience Network, ITV (UK)
George Groves vs. Jamie Cox

WBA Super champion Groves (26-3, 19 KOs) defends his title against Cox (24-0, 13 KOs) in the World Boxing Super Series tournament. Groves won the super middleweight title in exciting fashion back in May against Fedor Chudinov via a 6th round TKO, and this bout versus Cox, an amateur standout and an undefeated professional, is no walk in the park.

7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT - FOX
Leo Santa Cruz vs. Chris Avalos; Abner Mares vs. Andres Gutierrez

Kicking off a stellar night of fights in the U.S., Santa Cruz (33-1, 18 KOs) takes on Avalos (27-5, 20 KOs). Santa Cruz is coming off of two tough fights versus Carl Frampton, while Mares (30-2-1, 15 KOs) faces Gutierrez (35-1-1, 25 KOs). Santa Cruz and Mares were scheduled to next face each other in a rematch following up on their fantastic 2015 bout, but it was decided that Leo would take a comeback fight first, so Mares followed suit. The idea is that, if both fighters win on Saturday, they’ll then rematch.

10:00pm ET/7:00pm PT - SHOWTIME
Erislandy Lara vs. Terrell Gausha; Jermell Charlo vs. Erickson Lubin; Jarrett Hurd vs. Austin Trout

This junior middleweight triple-header is a phenomenal card. First up will be IBF world champion Hurd (20-0, 14 KOs), defending his belt against former world champion Trout (30-3, 17 KOs) in a very tough fight. WBC champion Charlo (29-0, 14 KOs) takes on one of the young guns in the division, Lubin (18-0, 13 KOs) in another fight that’s hard to pick. In the main event, WBA champion Lara (24-2-2, 14 KOs) faces U.S. Olympian Gausha (20-0, 9 KOs) in another great match-up.

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Comments

This is a place to express and/or debate your boxing views. It is not a place to offend anyone. If we feel comments are offensive, the post will be deleted and continuing offenders will be blocked from the site. Please keep it clean and civil! We want to have fun. We want some salty language and good-natured exchanges. But let's keep our punches above the belt...
  1. thanks for this fine summary 07:23am, 10/10/2017

    useful & well researched
    hope you can keep this up!

  2. Fan 05:56am, 10/10/2017

    Boxing should have a Massive Event at Dallas Cowboys Stadium or something big.

Leave a comment