BWAA Honors Fighters/Writers

By Adam Berlin on May 13, 2012
BWAA Honors Fighters/Writers
Andre Ward will deservedly receive the Sugar Ray Robinson Award as Fighter of the Year

The annual Boxing Writers Association of America dinner will be held at the famous Copacabana Club in New York City on Wednesday, June 6, 2012. The yearly gathering recognizes the year’s best fighters and honors the best boxing writers. Andre Ward will receive the Fighter of the Year award. Delvin Rodriguez/Pawel Wolak will receive Fight of the Year honors. The Klitschko brothers will receive the James A. Farley Award for “Honesty and Integrity in Boxing” (brother Vitali promises to be in attendance). And the legendary Don Elbaum will receive the John F. X. Condon Award for Long and Meritorious Service. On the writing side of the program, the late George Plimpton will receive the A.J. Liebling Award for Outstanding Boxing Writing while Colin Hart will be honored with the Nat Fleischer Award for Excellence in Boxing Writing.

For ticket information and a complete list of honorees, go to the Boxing Writers Association of America’s website,

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Read More Blogs
Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Leave a comment