Porter Withdraws, Replaced by Ugas

By Caryn A. Tate on August 17, 2017
Porter Withdraws, Replaced by Ugas
Shawn Porter has withdrawn from his August 26 fight on FOX versus Thomas Dulorme.

Replacing Porter in the bout will be top welterweight challenger and 2008 Olympic bronze medalist Yordenis Ugas…

Top welterweight and former world champion “Showtime” Shawn Porter has withdrawn from his August 26 fight versus Thomas Dulorme. The bout was scheduled to headline the preliminary bouts, broadcast on FOX and FOX Deportes, for the mega fight between Floyd Mayweather Jr. and Conor McGregor.

The reason for Porter’s withdrawal was for personal reasons due to a death in his family.

Replacing Porter in the bout with Dulorme will be top welterweight challenger and 2008 Olympic bronze medalist Yordenis Ugas (19-3, 9 KOs).

“On behalf of Mayweather Promotions we send our prayers and deepest condolences to the Porter family,” said Leonard Ellerbe, CEO of Mayweather Promotions. “In boxing we have to deal with curveballs that constantly come at us. Thomas Dulorme has been training hard and is ready to face Yordenis Ugas. Ugas is a tough competitor that shouldn’t be overlooked, and Dulorme is ready. The fight fans are definitely in for an outstanding show between Dulorme and Ugas come Aug. 26.”

“I have been training for this fight for a several weeks now, I knew at the-time Porter was going to be a tough challenger so I took training camp extremely serious,” said Dulorme. “Fighting on a card this big, you cannot doubt anyone in front of you. My new opponent doesn’t change much. All I can do is continue to stay focused and listen to my team and bring the best fight I can.”

“It’s an honor to be fighting on one of the biggest boxing cards in history and fighting in the same ring as one of the most famous boxers in the world - Floyd Mayweather,’’ Ugas said. “This is the type of fight that I’ve been looking forward to having since I came back last year after being off for almost three years. This will be my fifth fight in a year. And this is the second fight that I’ve taken on short notice this year. But it doesn’t bother me because I’m always training. Dulorme is a tremendous fighter. He’s very aggressive and very technical. He’s going to get my very best as I know I will get the very best from him. It’s really an honor to fight a quality opponent on a card like this.’‘

The coverage on Saturday, August 26 will begin on FOX and FOX Deportes with a one-hour Prefight Show at 6pm ET/3pm PT, followed by the prelims starting at 7pm ET/4pm PT. The Mayweather vs. McGregor pay-per-view event will begin on SHOWTIME PPV at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

Follow Caryn A. Tate on Twitter@carynatate

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Leave a comment