Ramirez Defeats Afolabi

By Robert Ecksel on April 12, 2015
Ramirez Defeats Afolabi
Without the benefit of video, Podgorski made a judgment call under fire. (Ramon Cairo)

Afolabi reacted in disbelief, while Ramirez rolled around the canvas as if he’d been castrated in Buenos Aires…

Friday night at the Villa La Nata Sporting Club in Buenos Aires, Argentina, IBF Latino and former WBO cruiserweight champion Victor Emilio Rodriguez (22-2, 17 KOs), aka El Tyson del Abasto, from Buenos Aires, decisioned IBO cruiserweight champion Ola “Kryptonite” Afolabi (21-4-4, 10 KOs), from Los Angeles by way of London, England, to claim the interim IBF cruiserweight title after 12 rounds.

Ramirez, ranked number 4 by the IBF, came into the bout on a six-fight win streak. He controlled the first third of the fight. Afolabi, ranked number 4 by the IBF, took the middle rounds. El Tyson del Abasto came on down the stretch. Even though it didn’t affect the final scores of 115-111 twice (Alejandro Lopez from Mexico and Cesar Ramos from Puerto Rico) and 116-111 (Ricardo Duncan from Panama), Afolabi landed a low blow in round 11 and, having already been given two hard warnings by the referee Pete Podgorski, was deducted two points.

Without the benefit of instant replay and slow motion, Podgorski made a judgment call under fire. Afolabi reacted to the call in disbelief, while Ramirez, not about to be outdone, rolled around the canvas as if he’d been castrated in Buenos Aires.

According to the Unified Rules of the Association of Boxing Commissions, under the heading Intentional Fouls:

1. If an intentional foul causes an injury, and the injury is severe enough to terminate the bout immediately, the boxer causing the injury shall lose by disqualification.

2. If an intentional foul causes an injury and the bout is allowed to continue, the referee shall notify the authorities and deduct two (2) points from the boxer who caused the foul. Point deductions for intentional fouls will be mandatory.

Video shows the punch was low. Having been warned before, Podgorski assumed, rightly or wrongly, that it as an intentional foul by a fighter losing a fight.

Since I am not a professional world-class referee and have no experience in that regard, the criticism of Podgorski, however muted, is without justification.

We want our referees and judges to be perfect all the time.

If only that lofty standard to our mothers and ourselves.

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

El triunfo de Víctor "El Tyson del Abasto" Ramírez ante Ola Afolabi



Read More Blogs
Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Comments

This is a place to express and/or debate your boxing views. It is not a place to offend anyone. If we feel comments are offensive, the post will be deleted and continuing offenders will be blocked from the site. Please keep it clean and civil! We want to have fun. We want some salty language and good-natured exchanges. But let's keep our punches above the belt...
  1. Kid Blast 06:10pm, 04/12/2015

    Good

Leave a comment