Rules of the Game: Jack Reiss on GGG-Vanes

By Caryn A. Tate on May 8, 2018
Rules of the Game: Jack Reiss on GGG-Vanes
I spoke with Jack Reiss to hear about the situation from his perspective. (Photo: Courtesy)

HBO commentators Jim Lampley and Roy Jones, Jr. discussed the stoppage by Reiss and the fact that he could have made the choice to disqualify Golovkin…

On Saturday, May 5, unified middleweight world champion Gennady “GGG” Golovkin (38-0-1, 34 KOs) defended his titles against former junior middleweight challenger Vanes Martirosyan (36-4-1, 21 KOs) from StubHub Center in Carson, California. In the second round, power-punching Golovkin began landing many clean shots on Vanes that took their toll—he was visibly hurt, a fact that Golovkin knew he could capitalize on. He stepped in to deliver a vicious flurry in an attempt to finish his opponent.

It worked. Vanes sank to the canvas and wasn’t able to beat the count given by referee Jack Reiss, who waved off the bout.

The replay shown on HBO revealed that there was a little punch thrown by Golovkin just slightly after Vanes’ knee had touched the canvas. In real time, it happened in a fleeting moment; but HBO commentators Jim Lampley and Roy Jones, Jr. discussed the stoppage by Reiss and the fact that he could have made the choice to disqualify Golovkin for a punch landing after his opponent was technically down.

Today, I spoke with Reiss by phone to hear about the situation from his perspective.

“What was going through my mind when it happened was: what put him down, and what’s keeping him down?” Jack explained. “I had to decide: was it a flurry of punches that put him down, and was it the flurry of punches that were keeping him down—or was it that little finishing punch that was keeping him down?

“Based upon what I saw, and the fact that I was coming in and Gennady kinda took a little bit off the punch because he saw me coming in…that punch had very little effect…what was keeping him down is what put him down—the flurry of punches.”

Reiss extrapolated on how experienced officials determine whether a blow is legal in a split second moment like this one. “It’s like a punch at the bell. If a guy is throwing, and then the bell rings—if the punch was already started before the bell rang—it’s a legal punch.”

Rules of the Game: Jack Reiss on GGG-Vanes
Rules of the Game: Jack Reiss on Refereeing Rungvisai-Estrada

Check out more of Caryn’s work at http://www.CarynATate.com and follow her on Twitter@carynatate

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Comments

This is a place to express and/or debate your boxing views. It is not a place to offend anyone. If we feel comments are offensive, the post will be deleted and continuing offenders will be blocked from the site. Please keep it clean and civil! We want to have fun. We want some salty language and good-natured exchanges. But let's keep our punches above the belt...
  1. Balaamsass 06:31am, 05/09/2018

    Didn’t stop Roy Jones Jr from having a shit fit….his face was actually flushed red for Christ’s sake! Lamps had to do some hurry up ass kissin’ to feed that massive ego by reminding him that he got Montell Griffin out of there in 19 seconds in the return bout! Ah those were the days my friend when Junior was juiced to the gills and doing all kinds of really crazy ass shit….just ask Virgil Hill because his ribs are still floating! How about the time he had both gloves behind his back and then windmilled his right and clocked that guy from Oz I think it was?! He was dirty dog dirty and guess what?....so is Usain Flojo Bolt!

Leave a comment