What to Watch: February 28 - March 2

By Caryn A. Tate on February 28, 2019
What to Watch: February 28 - March 2
Castano, from Argentina, has a style reflective of what one often sees from that country.

Former WBA world super welterweight champion Lara returns for the first time since his April 2018 Fight of the Year versus Jarrett Hurd…

Join me as I break down which of the week’s televised fights are most interesting and why.

Thursday, February 28
7:00pm PT/10:00pm ET - UFC Fight Pass
Ray Ximenez (18-1, 4 KOs) vs. Luis Alberto Lopez (16-1, 8 KOs) - 10 rounds, featherweight

Saturday, March 2
1:00pm PT/4:00pm ET - DAZN
Jordan Gill (22-0, 6 KOs) vs. Emmanuel Dominguez (24-7-2, 16 KOs) - 12 rounds, featherweight

3:30pm PT/6:30pm ET - undercard streaming free on Showtime’s YouTube or Facebook
Edwin Rodriguez (30-2, 20 KOs) vs. Mitch Williams (16-6-3, 11 KOs) - 10 rounds, cruiserweight; Antonio Russell (12-0, 10 KOs) vs. Jose Maria Cardenas (16-3, 13 KOs) - 8 rounds, bantamweight; Leduan Barthelemy (13-0-1, 7 KOs) vs. Miguel Angel Aispuro (11-6-2, 7 KOs) - 8 rounds, super featherweight

6:00pm PT/9:00pm ET - Showtime
Erislandy Lara (25-3-2, 14 KOs) vs. Brian Castano (15-0, 11 KOs) - 12 rounds, super welterweight; Luis Ortiz (30-1, 26 KOs) vs. Christian Hammer (24-5, 15 KOs) - 10 rounds, heavyweight; Bryan De Gracia (24-1-1, 20 KOs) vs. Eduardo Ramirez (21-1-3, 8 KOs) - 12 rounds, featherweight

Former WBA world super welterweight champion Lara returns for the first time since his April 2018 Fight of the Year versus Jarrett Hurd, when Lara lost his title to Hurd in a close split decision. Castano has not—as Lara has stated himself—faced anyone of Lara’s caliber yet in his career, but the contrast of their styles should make it an entertaining bout.

Castano, from Argentina, has a style reflective of what one often sees from that country. He likes to come forward and land big shots when he can, and he does carry a lot of knockout power (11 KOs in 15 wins). But Lara is an elite fighter with tremendous footwork, timing, and ring IQ that will likely see him outbox and outwork Castano.

Check out more of Caryn’s work at http://www.CarynATate.com and follow her on Twitter@carynatate

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Comments

This is a place to express and/or debate your boxing views. It is not a place to offend anyone. If we feel comments are offensive, the post will be deleted and continuing offenders will be blocked from the site. Please keep it clean and civil! We want to have fun. We want some salty language and good-natured exchanges. But let's keep our punches above the belt...
  1. Your Name 06:14pm, 02/28/2019

    Many thanks Caryn as usual. I depend on this.

Leave a comment