What to Watch: February 9-10

By Caryn A. Tate on February 7, 2019
What to Watch: February 9-10
Join me as I break down which of the week's televised fights are most interesting and why.

Regardless of how the fight itself plays out, Gervonta Davis is an immense talent who shouldn’t be missed…

Join me as I break down which of the week’s televised fights are most interesting and why.

Saturday, February 9
7:00pm PT/10:00pm ET - Showtime (5:00pm PT/8:00pm ET undercard - streaming on Showtime’s YouTube & Facebook
Gervonta Davis (20-0, 19 KOs) vs. Hugo Ruiz (39-4, 33 KOs) - 12 rounds, WBA super featherweight world title; Mario Barrios (22-0, 14 KOs) vs. Richard Zamora (19-2, 12 KOs) - 10 rounds, super lightweight; Erickson Lubin (19-1, 14 KOs) vs. Ishe Smith (29-10, 12 KOs) - 10 rounds, super welterweight; Juan Heraldez (15-0, 9 KOs) vs. Eddie Ramirez (17-2, 11 KOs) - 10 rounds, super lightweight

Davis was originally scheduled to face Abner Mares in the main event, but last week Mares was forced to pull out due to a detached retina that occurred during a sparring session. It’s unfortunate for fans as well as Mares, as that promised to be an exciting match-up. But in Ruiz, we have a less well known, former world champion who may bring the hunger that only an opponent who is being overlooked and/or underestimated can bring.

Regardless of how the fight itself plays out, Gervonta Davis is an immense talent who shouldn’t be missed. Hopefully the next time he gets in the ring, it’s for a unification bout.

Mario Barrios, a 140-pound contender, is another highly skillful young fighter to watch for. Training with elite coach Virgil Hunter and achieving knockouts in his last six fights (since he moved up to 140 from 130), he may be ready for a title shot very soon.

On the streamed portion of the card, Lubin vs. Smith promises to be an engaging bout. Lubin is a well-rounded young fighter who packs a punch but can also box, while Smith is a skillful veteran who has never been stopped in his 18+ year pro career. The contrasting styles should make for a fun fight.

6:00pm PT/9:00pm ET - DAZN
Alberto Machado (21-0, 17 KOs) vs. Andrew Cancio (19-4-2, 14 KOs) - 12 rounds; Rey Vargas (32-0, 22 KOs) vs. Franklin Manzanilla (18-4, 17 KOs) - 12 rounds, WBC super bantamweight world title; Joseph Diaz Jr. (27-1, 14 KOs) vs. Charles Huerta (20-5, 12 KOs) - 10 rounds, featherweight

Machado holds the “minor” WBA belt, while the “super” world title is held by Gervonta Davis (also fighting on Saturday, on Showtime—see above). The “super” world title is broadly acknowledged as the legitimate world title for the WBA in each weight class.

Sunday, February 10
4:00pm PT/7:00pm ET - ESPN (undercards at 1:00pm PT/4:00pm ET on ESPN+)
Jose Ramirez (23-0, 16 KOs) vs. Jose Zepeda (30-1, 25 KOs) - 12 rounds, WBC super lightweight world title; Ray Beltran (35-8-1, 21 KOs) vs. Hiroki Okada (19-0, 13 KOs) - 10 rounds, super lightweight; Andy Vences (21-0-1, 12 KOs) vs. Dardan Zenunaj (14-5, 11 KOs) - 10 rounds, super featherweight

Check out more of Caryn’s work at http://www.CarynATate.com and follow her on Twitter@carynatate

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Comments

This is a place to express and/or debate your boxing views. It is not a place to offend anyone. If we feel comments are offensive, the post will be deleted and continuing offenders will be blocked from the site. Please keep it clean and civil! We want to have fun. We want some salty language and good-natured exchanges. But let's keep our punches above the belt...
  1. ceylon mooney 09:10am, 02/10/2019

    the boxing press needs to clarify the regular and super flip-flop that went on with davis and machado.

    ms tate, you are correct that the WBA super belt is the world championship belt while the regular title is not.

    however, the case of davis and machado is the opposite scenario.

    machado won the WBA super belt by defeating jezreel corrales, who lost it on the scales.

    without explaination, the WBA downgraded machado to regular champion and sanctioned the davis-cuellar fight for machados super championship.

    except for an article on boxingscene.com, this is a huge failure of the press in boxing to document and investigate this corruption in a way commensurate to the severity of the corruption. these alphabet bodies are a bunch of bullshit, but this move is quite an escalation from the casual corruption of the sanctioning bodies.

  2. thrashem 12:40pm, 02/08/2019

    This kid Davis, if he can keep his head strait has greatness in him. He needs a good coach who he will listen to. He is Floyds replacement.  A bit of Prior and Arguello. In a couple years will be ready for Loma and KO him.

Leave a comment