What to Watch: October 11-12

By Caryn A. Tate on October 10, 2019
What to Watch: October 11-12
Join me as I break down which of the week’s televised fights are most interesting and why.

While the match-ups aren’t likely to be as competitive as we might like, at least Bivol’s bout is a world title defense…

Join me as I break down which of the week’s televised fights are most interesting and why.

Friday, October 11
12:00pm PT/3:00pm ET - ESPN+
Jay Harris (16-0, 8 KOs) vs. Paddy Barnes (6-2, 1 KO) - 10 rounds, flyweight

5:00pm PT/8:00pm ET - UFC Fight Pass
Chad Dawson (35-5, 19 KOs) vs. Denis Grachev (19-8-1, 10 KOs) - 8 rounds, light heavyweight

7:00pm PT/10:00pm ET - DAZN
Fabio Turchi (17-0, 13 KOs) vs. Tommy McCarthy (15-2, 8 KOs) - 12 rounds, cruiserweight

Saturday, October 12
11:30am PT/2:30pm ET - ESPN+
Josh Warrington (29-0, 6 KOs) vs. Sofiane Takoucht (35-3-1, 13 KOs) - 12 rounds, IBF world featherweight title

7:00pm PT/10:00pm ET - DAZN
Dmitry Bivol (16-0, 11 KOs) vs. Lenin Castillo (20-2-1, 15 KOs) - 12 rounds, WBA world light heavyweight title; Oleksandr Usyk (16-0, 12 KOs) vs. Chazz Witherspoon (38-3, 29 KOs) - 12 rounds, heavyweight

While the match-ups aren’t likely to be as competitive as we might like, at least Bivol’s bout is a world title defense and Usyk’s fight is his first at heavyweight, so that’s somewhat intriguing. Witherspoon is a late replacement for Tyrone Spong, who was removed from the bout earlier this week due to a positive result in a drug test administered by VADA (Voluntary Anti-Doping Association).

Check out more of Caryn’s work at http://www.CarynATate.com and follow her on Twitter@carynatate

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles