What to Watch: October 24-26

By Caryn A. Tate on October 24, 2019
What to Watch: October 24-26
Join me as I break down which of the week’s televised fights are most interesting and why.

Taylor is a very good fighter, undefeated like Prograis, but I expect the more dogged and wily southpaw to wear Taylor down…

Join me as I break down which of the week’s televised fights are most interesting and why.

Thursday, October 24
5:00pm PT/8:00pm ET - UFC Fight Pass
Kendo Castaneda (16-0, 7 KOs) vs. Stan Martyniouk (20-2, 6 KOs) - 8 rounds, super lightweight

7:00pm PT/10:00pm ET - DAZN/GGolden Boy Fight Night Facebook Page
Elwin Soto (15-1, 11 KOs) vs. Edward Heno (14-0-5, 5 KOs) - 12 rounds, WBO light flyweight world title

Friday, October 25
1:00pm PT/4:00pm ET - DAZN
Daniele Scardina (17-0, 14 KOs) vs. Ilias Achergui (13-4-1, 6 KOs) - 10 rounds, super middleweight

Saturday, October 26
11:00am PT/2:00pm ET - DAZN
Regis Prograis (24-0, 20 KOs) vs. Josh Taylor (15-0, 13 KOs) - 12 rounds, WBA/IBF world super lightweight titles; Derek Chisora (31-9, 22 KOs) vs. Joseph Parker (26-2, 20 KOs) - 12 rounds, heavyweight; Ricky Burns (43-7-1, 16 KOs) vs. Lee Selby (27-2, 9 KOs) - 12 rounds, lightweight

Prograis vs. Taylor is an excellent world title unification bout. Taylor is a very good fighter, undefeated like Prograis, but I expect the more dogged and wily southpaw to wear Taylor down. I suspect Prograis stops Taylor in the middle rounds.

3:30pm PT/6:30pm ET - ESPN+ - Stevenson vs. Gonzalez undercards

6:00pm PT/9:00pm ET - Showtime
Erickson Lubin (21-1, 16 KOs) vs. Nathaniel Gallimore (21-3-1, 17 KOs) - 12 rounds, junior middleweight; Robert Easter Jr. (21-1-1, 14 KOs) vs. Adrian Granados (20-7-2, 14 KOs) - 10 rounds, super lightweight

Lubin and Gallimore are skillful young fighters who have been looking to make their marks. The match-up should provide a lot of action based on their styles and temperaments. In the co-feature, Easter is moving up from 135 and Granados is moving down from 147 (to his more natural 140) in a stylistically intriguing fight. If the much taller, longer Easter allows himself to be pulled into an inside or mid-range fight, as he often does, it may be Granados’ night.

7:00pm PT/10:00pm ET - ESPN+
Shakur Stevenson (12-0, 7 KOs) vs Joet Gonzalez (23-0, 14 KOs) - 12 rounds, WBO world featherweight title; Mikaela Mayer (11-0, 4 KOs) vs. Alejandra Soledad Zamora (7-3, 1 KO) - 10 rounds, super featherweight

Stevenson is an excellent young fighter, a 2016 Olympic silver medalist who has been improving with each bout as a professional. Now, he makes his first bid for a world title against a fellow undefeated boxer in Gonzalez in what promises to be an exciting bout.

Mayer, also a 2016 U.S. Olympian, is also an excellent boxer with superb fundamentals. Look for another dominant performance from her on Saturday.

Check out more of Caryn’s work at http://www.CarynATate.com and follow her on Twitter@carynatate

Follow us on Twitter@boxing_com to continue the discussion

Discuss this in our forums

Related Articles

Comments

This is a place to express and/or debate your boxing views. It is not a place to offend anyone. If we feel comments are offensive, the post will be deleted and continuing offenders will be blocked from the site. Please keep it clean and civil! We want to have fun. We want some salty language and good-natured exchanges. But let's keep our punches above the belt...
  1. Joe G. 04:18am, 10/25/2019

    Excellent breakdown once again Caryn. Saw Shakur live 7 times, 3 of his first 4 and all I can say is that boy can crack. I made sure to travel back to Philly for the debut of Robeisy Ramirez and man did it put into perspective how far Shakur has come. He even left Conlan in the dust. Not even a mention of setting those two up under the TR banner. But as I said a while back in response to a Magno piece during the summer, Prograis v. Taylor was a great fight to look forward to in boxing and its finally here. Contrasting styles (intriguing plot and pure definition in Granados v. Easter as well). Title unification. Taylor needs to be switched on for all 36 minutes or Prograis will do EXACTLY as Caryn said above. If Regis tries to show out and beat Taylor at his game, he will have made a grave mistake. Taylor can outpoint him all night but doubt his commitment punches leading to Prograis eventually walking him down. If Taylor earns his respect he has a chance. Hope the junkyard dog in Granados comes out one more time. He gets inside that 100” reach of Easter and sets up shop he can break him. Erickson Lubin need not look past this man. Gallimore has some skill. Good fight weekend to look forward too

  2. ceylon 05:11pm, 10/24/2019

    CORRECTION:

    parker dropped
    off the fight a good while ago. chisora is fighting davidnprice.

  3. ceylon 05:08pm, 10/24/2019

    grrreat weekend for fights.